I’ll be me…you be you.

D. A. Stanley
2 min readJan 9, 2020

I don’t know about anyone else but I am really…really put off by blatant shows of going for a “look”. Like both instances of people who try to stereotypically look like a certain group or who judge whether someone belongs by how they look…

“Dressing gay”, “straight style”, even someone saying “you should have guessed I was *blank* by how I act/dress”… I don’t like being labelled and I dress and act how I feel comfortable so I don’t just assume about others based on those criteria.

Some people seem angry that I didn’t assume something about them because they dressed or acted a way, or had their hair a certain style…the flip is that I’ve had people claim frustration at trying to figure out my orientation or even heritage based on how I talk, look, and act.

I am me, I don’t feel like I need to come across as anything other than what I am comfortable being. If you want to know something about me, ask. Maybe my style, manner, and whatever confuses people because I am not afraid to embrace my own chaos, maybe that comes through.

If you truly feel comfortable and free in your style, manner, and way about you, then good for you! I am not trying to shame anyone for choosing to display themselves in certain ways…I just have been criticized for NOT making assumptions as well as “coming across” as confusing to some.

--

--

D. A. Stanley

Veteran, Father, Gamer, Adventurer. Creating adventure, beauty, and wonder through photo, video, and writing.